Jul 15, 2024  
Graduate Catalog | 2024-2025 
Graduate Catalog | 2024-2025

MBA PLUS Post-Master’s Certificate

The MBA PLUS Post-Master’s Certificate program provides an opportunity for graduates of AACSB-accredited MBA programs to broaden and update their business education. As business conditions, tools, and techniques change rapidly, a major way of staying at the forefront of knowledge is through additional university education. The MBA PLUS Certificate makes courses in the Belk College’s MBA Concentrations available to persons who already have MBA degrees.

Admission Requirements

Applicants must satisfy the general requirements established by the Graduate School for admission to a graduate certificate program. Applicants must provide one official transcript indicating the awarding of an MBA degree from an AACSB-accredited institution or equivalent, one official transcript indicating the awarding of an accredited bachelor’s degree, along with the Graduate application and application fee. (Graduates from the MBA program at UNC Charlotte are not required to send an official transcript.) Applicants will not be required to retake the GMAT.

Certificate Requirements

The MBA PLUS Certificate requires completion of 12 or more credit hours of 6000-level courses.  At least 9 credit hours must be elective courses.  One 3-credit hour course may be a repeat of a course previously taken.  A student may repeat more courses, but only one such repeated course will be counted toward the certificate.  The 12-credit hour elective course requirement of the MBA PLUS corresponds to the 12-credit hour concentrations in the MBA program.

It is expected that most students will use their 12 credit hours or more to gain a concentration in a particular functional area of interest.  However, a broader program that draws from a number of areas may be pursued.

Transfer credits are not accepted in the MBA PLUS Certificate program. 

Certificate Total = 12 Credit Hours

Grade Requirements

To receive the certificate, students must complete all courses with a grade of B or above within five years from the time of enrollment in the first certificate course.